Honors and Awards

Get recognized

In addition to departmental honors, the Criminal Justice program has other opportunities for recognition.

Alpha Phi Sigma

Alpha Phi Sigma recognizes academic excellence of undergraduate and graduate students of Criminal Justice, as well as juris doctorate students. The goals of Alpha Phi Sigma are to honor and promote academic excellence, community service, educational leadership, and unity. Alpha Phi Sigma is the only Criminal Justice honor society that is a certified member of the Association of College Honor Societies and affiliated with the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences.

Students must have declared a major, minor or equivalent in the criminal justice or related field and have completed three full time semesters or its equivalent to be eligible for Alpha Phi Sigma. Students must attain a minimum grade point average of 3.2 on a 4.0 scale in their cumulative and Criminal Justice classes and rank in the top 35 percent of their class. A minimum of four courses must be in the criminal justice field.

Each year, the Criminal Justice program awards the Alpha Phi Sigma Award for Academic Achievement in Criminal Justice to a junior and senior. The previous winners were:

Alpha Phi Sigma Senior Award for Academic Achievement in Criminal Justice

  • Angela Bonds — 2019
  • Anna Leigh Nix — 2018
  • Erik Liebig — 2017
  • Seth Thompson — 2016
  • Derek Wojcik — 2015

Alpha Phi Sigma Junior Award for Academic Achievement in Criminal Justice

  • Sydney Campbell — 2019
  • Cole Smith — 2018
  • Alizé Mitchell – 2017
  • Jackson Teague – 2016
  • Kaylee Thompson – 2015

Alpha Phi Sigma Inductees


  • Sydney Campbell
  • Carolina Rae Cannon
  • Elisabeth Dianne Colquitt
  • Kate Lemon
  • Madison Meyer
  • Morgan Leigh Prillaman
  • Cassaundra J. Stockner


  • Angela Bonds


  • Mandee Bloodworth
  • Olivia George
  • Erik Liebig
  • Alizé Mitchell
  • Anna Nix
  • Raluca Andrada Sultana


  • Kha-Yen Le
  • Andrew Robinson
  • Jackson Teague


  • Maggie Cropp
  • Justin Mashburn
  • Joseph Reese
  • Sarah Reid
  • Kaylee Thompson
  • Seth Thompson
  • Derek Wojcik